Is a PhD Worth Pursuing?

lionqueen

Hello, 

I am looking for some advice when it comes to deciding whether pursuing a PhD is worth the time, effort, and so on that it entails. A bit of background first: I earned my BSc in biology in 2015 with a minor in psychology and (minor) research focuses in animal behavior and evolution. I simultaneously worked as a veterinary technician while in undergrad and for 2 years after graduating from undergrad, so for a total of almost 5 years. During this time I decided that vet school was not for me and decided to apply for a MS biology degree program, of which I was accepted into and am currently studying at. This is a two-year program and by the end, I will have finished a thesis that is ecology related that will hopefully be published and/or presented. I finally decided that I wish to pursue a career involving behavioral ecology, evolution, and conservation biology/management. I am now researching Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution PhD programs and plan to apply this fall.