Yale Applied Physics

Raffy

Hi there!

I am a French student, on my way toward a PhD in the USA. I have been admitted to Yale in Applied Physics (PEB program), and that's really great.

But I'd like to know a bit more, from the inside, about Yale's scientific "spirit". The thing is, I'm rather on the engineering side, I like the idea of developing new technologies, working with companies, and I'm not sure this is really what I am going to find at Yale. It's seems to me there is rather fundamental and academic research (of course, Yale is not Caltech or UC...).

I may be wrong, and that's why I am asking. What do you know about entrepreneurship at Yale? Are there some startups over there? What's the amount of patents? Finally, what's your point of view about Yale and technological innovation?

Thanks a lot! :D

Raphael

PS: If there is any French around, do you have some tips about the best route from Paris to New Haven? Thanks!

Hi there!

I am a French student, on my way toward a PhD in the USA. I have been admitted to Yale in Applied Physics (PEB program), and that's really great.

But I'd like to know a bit more, from the inside, about Yale's scientific "spirit". The thing is, I'm rather on the engineering side, I like the idea of developing new technologies, working with companies, and I'm not sure this is really what I am going to find at Yale. It's seems to me there is rather fundamental and academic research (of course, Yale is not Caltech or UC...).

I may be wrong, and that's why I am asking. What do you know about entrepreneurship at Yale? Are there some startups over there? What's the amount of patents? Finally, what's your point of view about Yale and technological innovation?

Thanks a lot! :D

Raphael

PS: If there is any French around, do you have some tips about the best route from Paris to New Haven? Thanks!