sweetchild

Hi all!

I wanted to say hey to any admitted students to the new Duke MIDS program!  What's your background and research interest? Are you ready to accept? 

Personally, I'm 2014 cognitive science graduate from the University of Rochester. I've gotten ~3 years of work experience in nonprofit evaluation and market research. I'm excited to learn more of the hard programming and statistical skills that I've been picking up in my post-undergrad life and start applying them to the world of social sciences. Duke seems to be a program that values a diverse application of data science beyond the traditional finance and tech world, so I'm really strongly considering accepting their offer :)

Tbh, I'm a little concerned with the fact that this is such a new program with no track record of success yet. How's everyone else feeling?

Hi!

I'm very excited to have been admitted to Duke's MIDS program! I'm an Economics major (math and management information systems minors) currently finishing up my senior year at Santa Clara University. I personally really like the variety and amount of courses offered in Duke's program, and even though it is a new program, it seems like the faculty are highly knowledgeable. I have also been accepted to UW, NYU, Georgia Tech, and Georgetown, but Duke is probably my top choice at the moment. I'm going to visit the campus in a week, and I'm hoping that will help with my decision. 

22 hours ago, kir2 said:

Hi!