Current MA Accepted for PhD -- Should I Graduate First?

andiedralls

Question

Hi all,

Here's the short version: I'm currently in my third year as an MA student, and it looks unlikely to me that I could actually finish a thesis soon; however, I just found out that the PhD program that was probably my number-one pick has accepted me. My acceptance email informs me that the department there will pay tuition (which my current program doesn't do) and fund me by roughly twice as much. The department is also closer to where my research interests have ended up in the three years since I've been here.

My questions are as follows: Can a department rescind an offer after they've extended it as long as I respond in time? How likely do you think that is? How likely do you think academic probation my first year would be? Do I even ~need to earn my MA here before heading for that program? If I don't, then would I count as a transfer student (is there such a thing at a graduate level)? Complicating this matter is the reality that my thesis director got a PhD at the very same program, and I think my thesis director's connections there played a significant role in my being accepted.

My guess is that, formally, this would be an entirely fresh start, and informally, word would probably get back to the PhD department and faculty would view me with some skepticism (and maybe hostility). In fairness, I know that leaving my thesis director hanging after s/he bothered to write a letter is a dick move; I wouldn't entertain the idea unless I thought the circumstances were extenuating.