Networking advice?

shiningorb

Hi all,

My department brought in a scholar who does fascinating research to our weekly seminar yesterday. Their work is somewhat related to the project I am currently on, but it is also research that I am really passionate about and would love to potentially collaborate with them on in the future. I did get to speak with them briefly about my work but I want to make a lasting impression. Unfortunately, I don't know how to do this, because I am only in my first year of graduate school and do not have a lot of prior experience with research/networking/etc. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I might be able to go about developing this relationship? 

Also, would it be weird if I email them requesting a copy of the slides from their talk? I would love to have them (the slides) on hand just for my own personal reference. 

My apologies if this isn't the appropriate forum for this thread. 

Edited by shiningorb

3 hours ago, shiningorb said:

Hi all,

My department brought in a scholar who does fascinating research to our weekly seminar yesterday. Their work is somewhat related to the project I am currently on, but it is also research that I am really passionate about and would love to potentially collaborate with them on in the future. I did get to speak with them briefly about my work but I want to make a lasting impression. Unfortunately, I don't know how to do this, because I am only in my first year of graduate school and do not have a lot of prior experience with research/networking/etc. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I might be able to go about developing this relationship? 

Also, would it be weird if I email them requesting a copy of the slides from their talk? I would love to have them (the slides) on hand just for my own personal reference. 

My apologies if this isn't the appropriate forum for this thread.