Lost on topic ideas

jocorac

Currently, I am in the process of looking for some topic ideas that I could possibly do for my dissertation. I don't need to have a concrete answer right now, but I will need something by my second semester due to a research class that is required (we have to have a small idea of what we want to research in order to complete assignments for the class). My topic has to be somewhat public history based due to the program that I attend. I am looking into Jim Crow,  the Civil Rights Movement,  or Black Power eras as places to research. I did my master's thesis on my hometown's Civil Rights Movement and although I loved that topic, there is not enough information available to expand that into a dissertation. If you know of any articles and/or books that could be helpful in creating a list, I would greatly appreciate it. I'm also open to anything related in the 20th Century US and/or African American History that you may have heard of. 

What about expanding your MA thesis to a statewide level, or selecting a few major cities (e.g. Durham, Raleigh, Wilmington, etc.)?

Wilmington has been done mostly. I’m learning that Raleigh and Durham do not have anything written on them about ther movements. I think the reason I am hesitant about doing Durham is because I felt like many people had already wrote on it but by my attending school, that’s how I knew the information. 

It is a possibility that I will consider though. Thank you!