Esoteric subjects?

Legenda

Hello everyone, 

I'm new but have been lurking around this wonderful forum for a while and learning a grand deal.

I'm a new MA Art History student but hoping to continue to a PhD one day....I always end up choosing subjects for research that leave me struggling but fascinated.

My current edivsor thinks I can research any topic I want- but I would like to get a larger perspective of opinions. I'm very concerned about my future and that I'm making a mistake.

My question is twofold:

1. Is choosing an esoteric subject for my thesis a good idea? For example, writing about an unknown artist or subject no one cares about. 

Would that have a bad impact when I try and get into a good graduate program?

2. I studied/am interested in Western esotericism and would love to continue researching art with that in mind.

Is that something you think is possible to do? Do you know Art Historians who do that? Good graduate programs?

Anything at all related to my questions could prove helpful.

Thank you! 

L

1.  Writing about an unknown artist or subject no one cares about is fine as long as you can articulate why people in your field and the discipline at large should care about your artist/subject. Whatever you write about, you have to a clear sense of the stakes: what is the historical and theoretical importance? Now, you can go out and chase trendy topics and that might give you a slight advantage but I do believe you'll have an easier time answering those questions and your work will be more meaningful if you're actually passionate about your subject.