Clinical Psych PhD?

Hello!

I am interested in hearing from some Clinical Psych PhDs about their decision to pursue the degree.

I have 3 years of research experience, and think research is fascinating. However, I am not sure I want it to be my life's work. I think I would much prefer work in a hospital or other clinical setting. Is pursuing the PhD a mistake? I know the Psy.D is an option, but I have heard some programs may not be very good and understand the cost can be crippling. I know MSW is another option, but again I am wary of high cost programs and it seems PhDs are usually leaders in clinical settings/perhaps have more career options. Again, while I think research is fascinating and definitely find some areas particularly compelling, I'm not sure I want to go on to be a professor and do tons of research. Clinical work sounds a lot more appealing.

Can any current PhDs share advice? How are you using the degree and was your program intended to be solely for individuals seeking teaching positions? I've also heard some programs dislike candidates who express an interest in clinical work, is this true?

On 5/26/2018 at 7:45 PM, gradkid1234 said:

Hello!

I am interested in hearing from some Clinical Psych PhDs about their decision to pursue the degree.