industrial vs research experience for masters

Rayan

Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this type of question, but I thought it is the most fitting..

So I graduated from university last year with a bachelors degree in Mechatronics Engineering. Good learning experience and GPA is quite good. I have planned to do a Masters degree from the US next fall with a focus on data science (I am very much interested in learning all of computer vision, data visualization, machine learning and using these to solve practical problems eventually - I have made some projects related to these in my undergraduate as well. Also I am aware that these are huge fields on their own but I plan to learn them one by one). Unfortunately, where I live in the third world, there are barely any research or work opportunities in this field and of the few that exist, most require years of experience and/or a PhD.

Now after graduating I have been working in a Fortune 500 company as a service engineer for the past 4 months. It's a bit stressful and the job feels quite menial because while there is quite a bit of work to handle, it's simple (replacing parts if a machine breaks down, sending emails to customers, some sales inquiries, etc) and in terms of actual learning there isn't much. Like you don't need a degree to do any of the tasks, just a bit of training. My manager told me this as well. I only get time to research and work on my personal projects that are related to "data science" after work. But because I have to travel and work overtime quite often, I tend to "miss" a few days of learning which ruins my flow of learning completely. Case in point is when I was about 25% of the way through a machine learning book but then later hadn't touched in the past 2 weeks because of excess work. So I have to start all over again.