2nd round of application... help me improve my application, pls !!

kobe36

hi all:

I am seeking advice, comments, etc. on my apps. I am expected across the board rejection this year as I have already been rejected 3 schools our of 7 and expected the last 4 to be a rejection too as I don't even meet their min requirement for GPA. I graduated from a state school (SF State, to be precise) in 2006 with a BA in psychology. I am currently seeking a Master's degree in Social Work. My ultimate goal is to get my license as a LCSW and be a therapist for juveniles.

-2.23 -overall gpa, 2.32 for major

-3 LORs from two of my former manager and one co worker. I couldnt get a single academic one because I have been out of school for so long although i am SURE that all three of LOR was excellent.

-3.5 years of social work experience as a case manager a ta non profit with low income families, 2 years of experience working as an administrative assistant at a another non profit organization (while in college)

-no GRE score because all of the schools I applied to didn't require it

-a very spotty academic record ( 4 F's (2 in chem classes when my major was in chemistry), 2 D's in major classes, and 1 incomplete (never bothered to retake the class), no withdrawal)

-Personal Statement was average (my bf graded it a B on a scale of A-F if that helps)

My options are these:

1) reapply next year (no doubt I will)

2) take a year and do a non profit management class at SF State although I am not sure what the certificate in the end will help me do (maybe it will prove that I can succeed academically in grad school and also help me get at least 1 LOR from a professor

3) take the certificate in Drug and Alcohol Counseling at City College (as it relates more I guess to my career) and this will also take a year although I don't know how much this will really help my apps as it will be at a community college