LOR - How close to be with a professor?

procrastikant

I am wondering what level of relationship one needs with a professor to ask for a LOR. I'm a Master's student and I essentially work with 1 professor very closely. I have taken 2 of his classes, he is an adviser to my Master's program, and also serves as my thesis supervisor. He is very supportive and has expressed great confidence in me, so I am very excited about him providing a letter for me. However, I haven't established this kind of relationship with any other professors at my current university.

I'm an interdisciplinary student (PPE program, but I focus on political philosophy), and unfortunately I had quite a few economics course requirements my first year. I know a letter from an economist would be worthless to a philosophy department, so I haven't even bothered with those professors, although I am friendly with some. There is one interdisciplinary philosophy professor that I have taken one course with who I really admire, though I don't know him. I received an A in the class and will take another class with him this Fall. I am thinking of asking him for a LOR but I'm not sure if that would be strange.

The final professor  is someone I actually haven't met yet, but my thesis supervisor has been urging that I have a meeting with him as he is from a great institution and experienced in my topic. I should be meeting with him later this month, and I hope to give him an excerpt of my working thesis to look over later in the fall. I won't ever have had a class with him, but I'm hoping 2-3 meetings with him and a look over my writing as well as raving from his close colleague will allow him to serve as a good writer.

The reason I say all this is because I recently read this from A Splintered Mind: