General GRE Quant Struggle Thread

placeinspace

Hi everyone, I've been studying for the GRE for about 3 months now, and just got a tutor to supplement my book and online resource quant studying, which didn't seem to be cutting it. I'm still getting the majority of quant questions wrong, and haven't seen much improvement. I'm kind of giving up at this point- taking the test in about 4 weeks and there's no way I'll miraculously improve by then. I'm mostly just posting this for moral support and do see if anyone else is in the same boat as me. Anyone else been hitting the books hard and just not seeing any marked improvement? :( 

I studied by myself for about 2 months, utilizing the Official GRE prep books and Magoosh, and found that my quantitative skills weren't improving significantly.  I even tried practicing a timed version of the test, and this only worsened my apprehension about the quant portion (given that I felt the pressure of time and felt I was getting many quant questions wrong).  Eventually, after I felt like I could do no more to improve it (and for the sake of my own mental well-being), I stopped preparing altogether.  I'm not sure if my struggles were due to the fact that I hadn't taken a math class since my senior year of high school, or if this was my innate "ceiling".  Nevertheless, I took the test and scored in 60-70th percentile range for quant, but in the upper 90's for verbal (which has seemingly always been my strong suit, at least for standardized tests).  So, maybe my fluid intelligence (as assessed via the quant portion) isn't all that great!  Supporting that idea, my GRE score seems to be line in with my math score on the ACT, which was also above average, but not stellar.  Anyway, that's just my own experience in a nutshell.  Best of luck with the test and your future endeavors.

14 minutes ago, DanieI said: