Wanting to apply for masters.. low gpa but working in the field?

Halpy

Hi all, 

So I've always been interested in public health and am currently working in that sector (for the past few years). I only graduated with a 2.9 gpa in my last 20 courses (better than my first 20..) and knowing how competitive it can be, do I even have any chance of getting into a masters (any masters for that matter..) with that gpa or would I need to do some upgrading?

I graduated a year ago, and problem is with already having a degree/working full time, it would take years to get that gpa up by even 0.2.. just not sure if it would make a difference. 

What do people think I should do? Should I quit, cry, or buckle down and find a way? 

Cheers 

• 2 weeks later...
On 8/30/2018 at 12:17 PM, Halpy said:

Hi all, 

So I've always been interested in public health and am currently working in that sector (for the past few years). I only graduated with a 2.9 gpa in my last 20 courses (better than my first 20..) and knowing how competitive it can be, do I even have any chance of getting into a masters (any masters for that matter..) with that gpa or would I need to do some upgrading?

I graduated a year ago, and problem is with already having a degree/working full time, it would take years to get that gpa up by even 0.2.. just not sure if it would make a difference. 

What do people think I should do? Should I quit, cry, or buckle down and find a way? 

Cheers 

Look into the programs that offer enrollment into a certificate option that covers some of main courses in the curriculum of your choice. This can help offset the lower gpa while giving you a head start on an MPH. Some of these certificate programs if completed above a certain gpa also allow for a GRE waiver.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Halpy,

2.9 is actually not a terrible GPA. Don't discount your opportunities before looking into them.