Interested in MA/PhD Sociology -- What are my chances?

christinan

Hi everyone,

I've been considering graduate school in Sociology for this past year now..

Right now I'm in my fourth year, I have about 6 more courses until I can officially graduate. But I think I will postpone my graduation for a couple of semesters so I can take additional courses to bump up my average.

Here's what I'm at right now:

Currently in 4th year at one of the top 5, well-known schools in Canada

- GPA (3&4th year)- 3.7 / 4.0 scale (A-)

- GPA (cumulative) - 3.0 / 4.0 (B) -- I was in the faculty of Sciences for my first two years of university attempting to do a math major.. failed miserably in 3 calculus/computer science courses.. should I retake them?

- Great relationship with my professors so letters of recommendation shouldn't be a problem

- I'm going to be a part of a Field School this summer, a chance to do first-hand research on an immigrant community

- Applied to be a research assistant for one of the profs in Sociology -- got an interview at the end of the month, hope I can get it

- Work experience (pretty irrelevant): 2 years as a bank teller, 2 years teaching piano

- Have not done the GRE yet... I'll do it this summer

I'm thinking of applying to UBC, U of Toronto, Carleton, U of Alberta... it'd be great if I could get into one of these Canadian schools because it'd be more convenient for me..

But I'm not limiting myself to only Canadian schools.. Also thinking about applying to University of Washington (seattle), UCLA, University of Michigan, University of Texas (Austin)

What are my chances of getting into grad school? I'll be taking roughly 10 more courses, so I might be able to increase my major GPA to 3.8..

I'm extremely worried about my stupid mistake of going into Math the first two years.. wondering how this will affect my chances..

I don't even know if I could retake the calculus courses and get a decent grade... Haven't done any math in years..