Canadian MFAs

eauclare

This is my first post here, and since I wasn't finding much info on Canadian schools, I thought I'd start it as a new topic.

I'm in my 3rd year of a BFA at Concordia University in Montreal, QC (not listed below as you need a 2-year gap to pursue an MFA after getting a BFA there, and I'd like to go somewhere new). I'm starting to seriously research schools and narrow down where I'd like to go. I feel like I'm likely to stay in Canada as going to US seems incredibly complicated and expensive, but maybe I shouldn't write it off. I also have dual Irish citizenship so I'd like to look at Europe -- but for now I'm focusing on what's available here.

These are the schools I'm currently looking into (listed from West to East) with my current favourites bolded:

• University of Victoria (Victoria, BC)
  • Emily Carr School of Art + Design (Vancouver, BC)
  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver, BC)
  • University of Alberta (Edmonton, AB)
  • University of Regina (Regina, SK)
  • University of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon, SK)
  • University of Manitoba (Winnipeg, MB)
  • University of Western Ontario (London, ON)
  • OCAD University (Toronto, ON)
  • University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)
  • York University (Toronto, ON)
  • NSCAD University (Halifax, NS)

Honestly I don't want to go to Toronto because it's dense, expensive, and has incredibly hot summers (I barely survive the heat waves in Montreal as it is). But it has good schools so I feel obliged to look into it before writing it off.