No internships/field experience - how big of a deal is this?

Olymerase

Hi all. My first post here! I'm a 3rd year undergrad at UF and planning to apply to UF's M.S. in Biostatistics next year. I have a strong GPA and relevant coursework and some light research experience (co-authored one paper) in biostats, but I have zero internships and really no experience in the biostats, public health/epidemiology, or pharmaceuticals fields... I've applied to a small handful of internships for Summer 2019 that seem to be relevant but I'm not going to bank on being accepted to any of them.

I just feel like my application is going to be lacking something huge because of this. Are internships/field experience really expected for fields like Biostats, with a relatively limited number of options out there?

There are also some summer programs in Biostats at different universities, but they are all like 10-week full-time research programs (or diversity camps in most cases) across the country and I don't think they're quite the same thing as an internship - should I apply to some of these or is it just a waste of time/money when I could instead spend the summer taking required pre-requisites and studying for the GRE?

Thanks all. I'm sort of new to the grad-school process as I spent the first 2 years of undergrad in a pre-med mindset only to finally realize that is not what I truly want to do.

Hi there. First of all, I would recommend you repost this to the Math & Statistics Gradcafe forum, since you'll probably get more responses there.