First Semester Grade Question

Hi all,

I'm a first year student in a Biostatistics program.  I was hoping to get some advice from someone regarding a delicate grading policy question.

Here is the background. This past semester  I was really surprised to see I got a B+ for a class where, according to all calculations, the overall grade should have been an A. The reasons I say it should have been an A are as follows:

• The syllabus says the overall grade will be calculated as weighted average with the following weights: homework - 30%, midterm - 30%,  final - 30%, attendance - 10%
  • My grades for each of these three components were as follows: homework - 97, midterm - 88, final - 100, attendance - 100

Given all this, my overall final grade for the class comes out to be 95.5, which I fail to see how it could possibly be assigned a B+... I emailed the professor for clarification as soon as I saw the grade, since I assumed it was probably a typo but he said that the reason I got a B+ was because most students (70% of students) in my class got a higher overall grade than me.. I'm really confused and I was wondering if anybody else had come across similar grading policies? Is this common? 

Any suggestions/comments would be much appreciated.

Your professor is grading the class on a curve.  Generally, professors only do this when it will help students, not hurt them, as obviously giving a student with a 99 a B is stupid. So, your professor is a jerk but it's really up to them how they grade. Did the syllabus not say what grade a 95.5 would correspond to?

Hi there,