Bioinfo VS Biostat VS SysBio VS Bio?

heuristicSystems

Hello! 

I’m getting around to applying for programs next year. I have a degree in biology, and some coursework in computer science (5 courses) and bioinformatics (2 courses) and math (calc&difeq, linear, stats). 

I have a good gpa (3.97) and have some research experience (4 years on-and-off in the same lab—starting with wet-lab genetics stuff, ending with a thesis where I used R to do a bunch of error propagation analyses related to some protein dynamic stuff, a year in industry half bioinfo analyst half immunology tech, and a few months of full time sysbio academic tech work). And lots of poster presentations, but no publications. I’m at a lesser-known R1 school  

But I’m super worried about admissions, being in the more-niche space of wanting to do some sort of quant biology. I feel well-qualified for biology programs, but i don’t really want to do much wet lab work in the future. Biostatistics would be awesome, but I’m not super qualified (I’ve never taken analysis or even a proper multi variable). Same with a lot of the more math-focused bioinfo programs  

Im thinking if focusing my applications to sysbio and bioinformatics programs? Should i still apply to pure bio programs? Do y’all have any suggestions?

I'm in a similar position as you are - in undergrad, I majored in biology and minored in computer science, with some coursework in math and statistics as well. I had ~3 years in a developmental bio lab doing benchwork in undergrad, and currently wrapping up my 2-year master's program where I do purely computational stuff in R/Python.