Columbia MSRED vs Cornell Baker Program in Real Estate

Hi there!

I got an offer from Master of Science in Real Estate Development in Columbia U and another from Baker Program in Real Estate in Cornell U. Real estate is not a main stream choice so I cannot find discussions about these two programs. And here's my comparison.

Columbia:

Pros:

1. Famous around the world (Yes I'm an international applicant);

2. Location, location and location, it's much easier for you to have a coffee chat with someone you really want to build up a connection with;

3. Better ranking than Cornell

Cons:

1. Total cost of $134K , including housings, personal expense...;

2. Only a one year program, once you start the first semester, you have to hurry to find a full-time job;

3. Low bar for admission of this program... about 90 positions each year?

4. Development oriented instead of finance oriented, though they add more real estate finance courses these years and you can choose many elective courses; 

5. Bad reputation in our country, especially in those big name company...This is true since Columbia is a kind of safe school in the level of top universities (half of my classmates went to Columbia), and many rich but non-qualified students went to this school. So during job interview  you are asked which university you graduated from, and you said Columbia, then well.........

Cornell:

Pros:

1. Also famous but not as Columbia;

2. Well-designed course structure, the required courses cover every aspect of real estate: development, finance and investment, statistics, securitization, with one summer internship and two field trip, domestically and internationally for each;

3. Under Hotel Management College and Business School, and Cornell's hotel management is awesome!

4. Total budge of $166K but for two-year study, $58K on average each year, cheaper than Columbia, and many positions for TA, RA, and a chance for scholarship;