Can I earn a research position as a non-degree seeking student?

Bmlutz

Hello Everyone,

I am hoping someone can give me some advice on how to earn a research position if I am not currently enrolled in a degree program.  To give you some background on my current situation I am a full-time employee at an investment management company but I would like to make a career change and go back to school for mechanical engineering. I am currently taking part-time undergraduate level courses and once I complete the core undergraduate mechanical engineering courses I would like to apply to a master's program. I have no research experience and no experience in mechanical engineering but the field is so interesting to me and I would love to get involved. Please let me know if it is possible for someone in my current position to earn a temporary research position and what would be the best way to try to accomplish this goal.  Thanks for the advice!

• 2 weeks later...

Yes, it's possible! I had the same problem as I was working a software engineer when I wanted to shift to epidemiology research. Now I work as a short-term RA in the field (only temporarily, since I'm leaving for grad school this summer).

What I did was persistently looking around for research positions and contacting different professors working in the field. It might be easier to work at a university than the industry when you don't have any research experience, I guess. I never received replies from the university job portal, though, so I ended up looking for professors' emails and contacting them directly.

Another thing is, the Professor I work for right now happened to be looking for someone with programming background, so it's a huge plus if you possess the particular skill they're looking for and it doesn't have to be related to mechanical engineering.

Good luck!