"We don't aim high"

kasuto

I'm brand new in academia and currently work as a Research Assistant. We're working on a paper where my Professor decided to assign me as the first author, but I'm not convinced by the method he proposed and he's pretty adamant about changing it. I have always been questioning the method and so far, he hasn't been able to answer any of my questions either. Additionally, when we asked other professors to review, they gave the comments/questions similar to mine. Finally, when I told him that I haven't been able to answer those questions and how it has been frustrating me, he said, "We don't aim high since we have a short timeline. We can set our scope in the introduction." He also said that we can just cite his previous published paper that utilizes the same method. What he said really demoralized me since I work mainly to gain experience; I didn't even expect that I would publish a paper in the beginning.

My research friend told me that he might have a minimum number of published paper requirement, that's why he's trying to play it "safe". But is it common for researchers/professors to do that?

Also, am I being too naive if I feel I shouldn't be the first author since I can't even explain with confidence why we're using the method? I know that some people say I should be grateful since my Professor is giving me the chance to become the first author, but I don't feel right... :(

Would love to know your opinions!