Rochester or Cornell

Averie Tk

Hi everyone,

I'm an International student from an Asian country and I have to decide between Rochester and Cornell for art history and visual studies.

I have external funding that our government offers me tuition and living stipends $17,000/year for four years. I plan to go back to Asia for work afterward.

Rochester: Visual and Cultural Studies: offer me enough living stipends for years [pros: I like ambiance there and I love to study theories and new media, contemporary art; cons: not so famous in our country]

Cornell: Art history and Visual Studies($0): no funding [pros: the school is famous in our country; cons: Following my advisor's specialization, I have to take Asian contemporary art as my primary focus, especially art history about my country. But I think there are too many Ph.D. students (in the U.S.) now working on related topics. Also, the government scholarship may not be enough for living in Ithaca, so I need to get into debt after graduation or to take TA jobs in the fifth and the last years.] I've also heard about that Cornell's art history is not so reputed.

I would like to ask if anyone has experience studying at Cornell or living in Ithaca. Is that $17,000 enough to make ends meet in Ithaca? I haven't had any experience studying in the states so please give me some advice or any information about these two schools. Thank you!

Edited by Averie J

15 minutes ago, Averie Tk said:

I'm an International student from an Asian country and I have to decide between Rochester and Cornell for art history and visual studies.