Narrowing down the list.

Hey all, I'm new here. I'm a recent MA graduate from the U.K. planning on applying to U.S. English PhD programmes this Fall for 2020 admission. I currently have a long list of possibles including some ivies, top ten schools, and some less "prestigious" options. Mostly, the insane amount of schools in the U.S. is really daunting and I could use some great advice from anybody thinking about grad school or currently there. I'm also really open to any unexpected suggestions, as I'm mostly doing my research in a vacuum, with advice only from Professors who are helping me out with thinking about schools and application materials. It's pretty hard to get a feel for things from this side of the Atlantic.