2020 Statistics PhD application chances

I finished my masters in Data Analytics in May. Now I want to go for a PhD in statistics.

Undergrad:

Computer Science at Illinois State University

GPA 2.9, 3.3 in major

Good grades in CS classes (As & Bs) not as good in math classes for my (unfinished) minor. One repeat and one D.

Grad:

Data Analytics at University of Illinois Springfield

GPA: 3.7

GRE (from four years ago): Verbal 166 (97%), Quant. 157 (64%), Writing 3.5 (39%) -- I plan to take this again in September and will study more for the Quant portion!

Master's closure project in machine learning and natural language processing.

LoR: One confirmed from master's capstone class, pretty sure he was impressed with my project/work. Could ask for one from manager at on-campus min. wage job. Her letter might be relevant for a TA position... Not sure about #3...

Research: None really. My MS program was entirely focused on getting a job. (Only one prof ever mentioned his research!)

My research interests are in machine learning and creating new algorithms using statistics.

My top choice is Univ of Illinois UC. Should I apply to the MS program and switch after a year? Or is there a chance of acceptance into a PhD program?

If it matters I'm a female domestic, Illinois resident.

Thanks for any advice!

Edited by GeekySarah
added detail

You should get letter-writers that convince the schools that you are good at high-level math and might be good at research.  As important as TA's may be at many universities, you're not going to get into a PhD program because you'd be a good teacher.