Statement of Purpose

Maali

Question

I have been applying to different graduate programs. But so far I have not been admitted into any. I have a Master of Science in Biotechnology from the University of Alabama GPA 3.6, and a B.S in Biochemistry from the University of Illinois, GPA 3.2. with GRE score of 312. These are some of my statements.

Muhammad A. Maali                                                                                                     Statement of Purpose #1

I am writing this statement as a step forward toward finding a stable career and at the same time by the propelling thoughts and intention of making a positive change in the field of pharmaceutics or developing a medicine. In addition, watching my relative struggle with myeloma, exhausting all the available experimental treatment to no avail, may have influenced my decision to seek a PhD education in drug development and more specifically pharmaceutical sciences and to gain relevant experience that would allow me to assume a more advanced position in industry or academia.

Every once in a while we hear about a breakthrough in the treatment of some diseases or a potential cure for some chronic illnesses. But then we do not see that promising breakthrough or drug make it to the market. This might be because a drug might be effective in vivo or through certain stages of clinical trials but then fails to be approved because it is not successful in later stages of clinical trials or due to various detrimental side effects, thus incurring a huge loss of time and money. I think pursuing higher education in pharmaceutical sciences would give me the chance to tackle some of these problems toward making the process of producing a medicine less expensive and to evaluate the effectiveness of certain promising medicines before spending unnecessary time and money.