Thesis & Data analysis

Kimmeh

First of all, I just want add that I'm not a graduate, I'm in my final year of my undergraduate course. Statistics is by far my weakest area over the entire programme.

I am in the early stages of planning my final year dissertation. So far, I have devised this:

The aim of this study is to examine the relationship between the intensity of attachment and grief responses among adults following the death of their pet. It is hypothesized that:

1. Participants with higher levels of attachment to their pets will report higher levels of grief following the death of their pet.

First of all, as it currently stands, is it ok to just have 1 hypothesis? Secondly, I'll be using two measures (attachment questionnaire and grief severity questionnaire). What type of data analysis will I need to perform?

Furthermore, I would like to include disenfranchised grief (No social recognition or validation that the person has the right to grieve or claim for social support) and use a questionnaire to measure that also but not sure how to incooprate this aswell.

In my last meeting with my supervisor, I gave a different research question which he tore to shreds and made me feel dumb as I couldn't answer his questions. Kept asking me "So what is your research question" even though I told him. He kept saying he didn't understand my research questionn(s) and made me feel very uncomfortable. So now I am doing a revised plan for our next meeting which I am dreading. For anyone that's curious, what I presented to him before was:

"What is the relationship between complicated grief and disenfranchised grief among bereaved pet owners? Subquestions included: (a) what effect does disenfranchised grief have on bereaved pet owners? (b) what effect does complicated grief have on bereaved pet owners? (c) what effect does attachment strength have on the severity of grief (d) what effect does social support have on disenfranchised grief?"