GRE combined 321:163V, 158Q--good enough for engineering?

einalemjs

Hi all, 

Do you guys think that any systems engineering MS program will admit me with these scores, even though they are the opposite of what is usually competitive in terms of sections? I have some research experience in my field but no publications. 3.56 GPA. I'm also a returning student that has great essays about what it's like to be a minority in STEM.

Thanks!

Edited by mjsharif

For engineering, I think a 158Q is a little low for such a science/math-oriented field like engineering.  Try to get that to at least 160.  If your GPA was like 3.9+, then I would say you can easily get away with your quant score.  Hell, I'm sure a score in the 150s anywhere would be ok if you had a 3.8 or 3.9+ GPA.

37 minutes ago, Libra924 said:

For engineering, I think a 158Q is a little low for such a science/math-oriented field like engineering.  Try to get that to at least 160.  If your GPA was like 3.9+, then I would say you can easily get away with your quant score.  Hell, I'm sure a score in the 150s anywhere would be ok if you had a 3.8 or 3.9+ GPA.

I agree with you generally. Like, I would be a lot more comfortable right now if I had scored a 160, and that was my goal, but I hit a bit of a wall with studying, and now deadlines are upon me and I can't take the test again. I will mention that my score in quant went up from a 153 to a 158 in just a month, which could help me. I also have an A in my relevant math course.

I guess my best bet now is just to pour it all into my personal statement. Undergrad for me was difficult because I wasn't embracing where I was and what I wanted to do. Engineering for me is how I've overcome that. Studying for the GRE SUCKED but it felt right in every sense of the word for me to be out here pushing to change my career.