PHD Required

SophietheSophist

Hi All! First time poster here.

I have a master's degree with SIGNIFICANT experience (about 7 years) of full-time teaching (non-tenure track) and administrative experience (director level at two universities) and I'm looking at another director position (the SAME job that I've done in the past) but it says "PHD required"-- which my prior two institutions required only a master's. Is this worth applying to if I do not have a PHD but have done the job in the past? How would you word this in a cover letter? Or, is it just not worth it to even try? 

Does anyone have any experience w schools changing their requirement after posting or hiring someone who doesn't meet a hard educational requirement (not just preferred)? 

6 hours ago, SophietheSophist said:

Hi All! First time poster here.

I have a master's degree with SIGNIFICANT experience (about 7 years) of full-time teaching (non-tenure track) and administrative experience (director level at two universities) and I'm looking at another director position (the SAME job that I've done in the past) but it says "PHD required"-- which my prior two institutions required only a master's. Is this worth applying to if I do not have a PHD but have done the job in the past? How would you word this in a cover letter? Or, is it just not worth it to even try? 

Does anyone have any experience w schools changing their requirement after posting or hiring someone who doesn't meet a hard educational requirement (not just preferred)? 

I mean you never know so I would apply.  They might not end up with the pool of candidates that they were expecting and will have to be flexible on some of their requirements.