Russia, Eastern Europe, Central Asia Regional Studies MA Programs 2020

Hanhan**

Hi everyone!

Is anyone else applying to master's programs in area/regional studies in Russia, Eastern Europe, and Central Asia? Any past applicants or people currently in these programs?

I'm applying to Stanford's CREES, Oxford's MPhil, the dual degree between Sciences Po and MGIMO and the College of Europe/Fletcher. 

• 2 weeks later...

Mine says that it is complete; however under the checklist there are no official transcripts from the two study-abroad institutions I attended (only the official one from my undergrad institution) and it also didn't show that I uploaded a course resume (which was uploaded separately from "additional materials", right? I am not able to see the application layout since the application period closed and I am driving myself crazy thinking it must be missing). It says that we will be contacted if anything is incomplete though, so there's some peace of mind! 

I graduated with an international relations degree from a very small institution in Switzerland (though I am from the US originally). I chose to focus on Central Asia and spent two semesters abroad, one in Kyrgyzstan and one in Tajikistan. In terms of work experience I did an internship at an NGO in Dushanbe in border security,  did another internship in a refugee counseling center in Germany and worked for a govt-funded language program in Tajikistan post graduation. Now I have been working in academic publishing for the past few years. Language-wise I speak German, Tajiki Persian and basic Russian -- I would love to learn more Russian in my masters, as it is really important for Central Asian research.