School Refuses Student Access to Ombudsperson

Hi all! I haven't posted here in quite some time, but this site has been an excellent resource for me in terms of non-biased advice and support. I am a third year PhD student with a focus in neuroscience at a medical school. Before coming here I spent a year in an eeeeeeeeextremely toxic lab at another university. It was so bad that I quit working on my PhD and started over at my current university. After that experience, advocating for graduate student support and rights has become a huge deal to me. I am an officer in the student government association and I am working very closely with our SGA president to advocate changes that will protect students who end up in bad situations.