Stanford (no funding) vs. Northwestern (full funding) for EE

jjpp

Hi, All,

I would like to seek for your advice on this tough decision making.

I am majoring Electrical Engineering in Communications track. I am now facing a decision between Stanford and Northwestern:

1)Stanford: Ms/PhD, no funding yet

Definitely, Stanford is very prestigious and the dream school. However, Most likely I have to take loans to support myself for the first year. If I am not able to pass the Quals or find a prof to support me, I would graduate with a Master degree with about $70,000 in debt. Is it easy to find a job and get out of this debt in one or two years?

2)Northwestern: PhD, full funding

Does anyone know the reputation of Northwestern in Communications track? There are only one prof, one A/P, one assistant prof doing research in my area. And It's a PhD.

Currently, I am not sure whether I want to go to industry or academia after graduation. If I go to industry, does the reputation of the school matters a lot? Also, with a master from Stanford, is it easy to get a PhD from other schools like MIT?

Look forward to hearing your opinions!

Thank you very much!

IMO it's not even close. Go with the funding. Jobs in industry tend to be a lot more about who your advisor knows, so try and do some research to see where people who graduated from North Western are now but funding vs no funding? I can't imagine going anywhere without funding.