Looking for Advice: Quant Policy Master + International Student

violagzy

Hey guys, I am having ~1 yr before graduating my from current grad program and (May 2021) am looking for advice on further development thereafter. 

I major in linguistics/finance during undergrad (in a famous international uni) and now studying policy/data science in the US. I know these four fields can make some interesting combinations, e.g. studying unfairness in granting loans (Finance/Data/policy), or NLP applications in policy (Ling/Data). Still, I do find my study experience was too mixed so that I did not formally have a field of expertise. In my current major, I learn a lot of the state-of-the-art data skills, statistical analysis, ml (although I have learned many of the contents during undergrad), but I believe a traditional tech company (FLAG) would not consider a double major student in Data Science like me. 

I am an international student and my practical experience was predominately abroad, e.g. consulting intern, equity research intern, market research intern, and some RA work. I came straight from undergrad so I do not have any full time working experience so far. Here in the US I can only do some on-campus research work (in the first year) because of the visa requirement. Therefore, apart from major requirements, sponsorship is also a big concern of mine. 

I target myself at some quantitative researcher positions at NGOs in the US. and plan to use my three years OPT. I know with increasing competition, some ds students are also looking at positions in the non-profit sector. Still, i want to give it a try given my mixed background especially my policy experience. Also, I heard that working in NGOs has less concern for H1B sponsorship. 

SO---- do you guys think that my plan work?