JD/MPP

xnormajeanx

I'm curious to know what people think about this joint degree type. Will it get you a lot further than a straight MPP or JD? What can you do with this degree? If you do a joint degree and then want to go into law, will it be looked upon favorably or unfavorably (since it's fewer credits...)?

I'm curious to know what people think about this joint degree type. Will it get you a lot further than a straight MPP or JD? What can you do with this degree? If you do a joint degree and then want to go into law, will it be looked up favorably or unfavorably (since it's fewer credits...)?

I'm a current law student waiting to hear back on my MPP/MPA applications. Generally, it's looked favorably upon, particularly if you're looking to be involved in government or regulatory legal work. Generally, the MPP isn't really required for anything - ordinarily people do just peachy with JDs. I personally applied for the MPP because I was looking to gain greater knowledge of policy/economics, which were both fairly lacking in my background. Other people pursue the joint JD/MPP for other reasons. Regardless of the rationale behind doing that combination, however, it is not looked down upon (though, admittedly, if you're at top schools the joint degree won't matter all too much for employment - it'll be more of an icing on the cake).

I'm just worried it'll be a bit of a 'watered down' law school experience, because you won't be fully immersed in the law school -- and neither will you be fully immersed in the MPP program. thoughts on that?