Ixd programs

Livturp

Hey all! Wanted to gather any thoughts on going to grad school for info experience design.

Was recently accepted into Pratt’s MS in Ixd and CCA’s Mdes in Ixd and I’m having a hard time deciding which school to go to/ if I should take that leap.

To give a little background, I got my undergrad in a humanities degree and since then I have been working for a couple years doing talent acquisition and branding for an IT consulting firm. I was finding it impossible to break into the user experience field as is (my job is demanding so finding time to freelance on the side was also very difficult) so I decided to apply to grad school. My job is somewhat design focused now and prior to receiving my undergrad degree, I almost majored in comp sci and learned how to code in java/python/html/css. I felt that an Ixd program could build on my design/tech foundation.  

Does anyone have and/or heard good experiences from the mentioned schools? Or do they find grad school has furthered the career of those with little experience in this field?

Obviously grad school is an expensive undertaking, but I feel very pigeonholed in my role right now and I’m looking for smart options to pivot. 

• 5 months later...

Hi, just joined gradcafe today. Which offer did you accept?

I'm looking to apply to the two plus SVA'S IXD and Parsons DT for the fall 2021 intake. So it would be great if you have any insight regarding either of the two courses. Hope you're doing well!

@lazzyshivam Since I come from a graphic design background, I was looking at IXD programs with a good design - tech balance and I think both Parsons DT and SVA IXD offer that.

The Parson's DT curriculum is broader. The website says "Areas of practice include wearable technology, game design, new media art, digital fabrication, physical computing, interaction design, data visualization, and critical design." (https://www.newschool.edu/parsons/mfa-design-technology/)