Phd. Advice about universities to apply (International student)

Raul

Hello everybody.

I'm Raul and I'm new at this forum. In CollegeConfidential they advised me to visit this forum, and here I am.

I am currently doing a master degree in Spain (research oriented), and my plan is to do the Phd in USA (applying this fall). I am not sure about what universities to apply, and that's the reason I'm writing you. I have a 3/4 GPA (the Rackham School @ UMich did the mapping between the spanish system and the GPA), but in the Master degree that I am now doing I am going to rise this mark. My mark was the first one among the students in my bachelor, and I am going to publish some research work in which I have been working on last months.

The problem is that I haven't any real reference about what universities hope about the applicants. So, what do you think about my chances at UIUrbana-Champaign, Georgia Tech, UMich?

Another university that you would recommend me?

My field research are real time systems, and distributed systems...

I hope you could help me.

Thank you very much!

Let's see.

If you would have to choose five out the following:

MIT

UC-Berkeley

UI-Urbana-Champaign

UMich

UNC-Chapell Hill

Georgia Tech

UC-Irvine

I think that all those ones have a strong CS deparment, and particularly they are good at Real time and distributed systems, so...

What would you choose?

Any other that is not in the list?

Thanks!

Hey, Raul

I am not sure how much help I will be, but I thought I would perhaps help get the discussion started.