Retake the GRE?

j bre

I recently took the GRE and received: 560 V, 640 Q, and 4 AW. Not so good, I know. I've never performed very well on standardized tests--I am a complete head-case. So, the question is: should I retake? If so, when? Any study suggestions?

(I plan on applying to several environmental/applied anthropology MA/PhD programs for the Fall of 2011. I have some related research experience, as well as TAing experience. I also wrote an undergraduate honors thesis, for which I received competitive grant funding. I have an undergraduate GPA of 3.7 and expect to have great LORs.)

I'm not quite sure about environmental anthropology, but I looked into various departments (higher-end) for anthropological archaeology and they all seemed to say that so long as your GREs aren't abominably low and everything else is strong about your application they don't put a lot of weight on it. Showing that you can write successful grant proposals definitely boosts your application by a lot - most applicants have never needed nor had the opportunity to apply for grants, let alone be successful at it. It also helps on the job market.

However, for anthropology and many other fields, this year was particularly competitive due to the economy. People in the demographic "fresh out of college" have had a terrible time on the job market, which means many are trying to apply for graduate study to wait out the recession, which means that you might be competing against an extra 100 candidates. It's hard to say if next year's application season will be much different considering. I would probably try to retake them and shoot for 1300+ just to ensure that your application can compete with the added pressure and higher volume of applicants.