UCLA v. USC

pepper88

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone could help me with my impossible decision. It's great to connect with other people going through the same types of issues. I'm trying to choose between schools I was accepted to. I've narrowed it to Washington University in St. Louis, USC, and UCLA.

Does anyone know anything about the WUSTL? I know it's a good program but does anyone have insider information from students - whether they enjoy the program, the professors, etc? They gave me a great scholarship which would make it very affordable.

I'm also having trouble deciding between UCLA and USC, if I choose to stay in LA. UCLA is relatively affordable since I'm a resident, but with new fees etc it will be around 18,900 even for residents, compared to the 11,000 it used to be. I'm thinking of doing the child welfare stipend program though which would cover tuition.

USC is also extremely affordable for me because one of my parent's is a professor, making tuition free!!

I still don't know what I think about UCLA v USC though. I really like the UCLA program, the people, and the school itself (I think going to a public school for social work is more consistent with the values of the profession). But I know USC is a great program too, I just don't know what makes it so great and which I should choose!!

I want to go into child welfare so I think each program would likely prepare me the same, and I might even have similar field placements.

Thanks for any thoughts or advice!!

Lucky you! It looks like you've got a great array of choices to pick from! Congratulations!

One of my former colleagues went to WUSTL and she only had good things to say about the program. She works as a case worker in a homeless shelter for women and she felt that the program really helped prepare her and the school itself carries a bit of the "branding" that can be helpful in the job search.