How to improve ecology application?

SHS1217

Hello! I have a BS in wildlife biology and I graduated in 2019 with a GPA of 2.83 which is obviously very low. I was a transfer student and my community college GPA was 3.6 but unfortunately after transferring I was working graveyard shifts full time while going to school full time and it really messed me up. I have learned to be better about time management and I want to go to graduate school in the field. For now I am in the military until 2023 and I want to improve my resume as much as I can while in so I can go to grad school when I get out. I hope to eventually get a PhD but I suspect it’ll be best to get a masters first. What would be the best way to improve my application/resume for the next 3 years? Would you recommend retaking classes or taking relevant graduate courses online? Or focusing on internships/volunteer field work? Certifications (GIS maybe?). I will be working full time so a full time job or degree isn’t an option but maybe other stuff will help? Would a graduate certificate online be valuable? Thank you in advance for any advice.

Edited by SHS1217

• 3 weeks later...

I don't know how much about what retaking courses/taking graduate courses would do, but it certainly wouldn't hurt. Showing an effort to stay engaged in the field and make positive progress would always look good. A GIS certification would be really helpful, as would taking a course in R programming language. Internships would help a lot if you will be able to do some alongside your work. 

From what I've been taught and told by potential PIs, experience goes a long way. Possibly one of the most important things you could do to improve your application, at least from my understanding. If you are limited in time, out of everything here I would prioritize at least one hands on internship that aligns well with what you want to study in grad school and what you want to do for an end goal career, after you finish your education.