Comparative Literature PhD Future Applicant - Language Proficiency Question

Hello! I've just completed an undergraduate degree in Comparative Literature and English, graduating with a First Class (UK). I wrote an undergraduate dissertation in Comp Lit in the specific subject area I'd like to pursue a PhD in, and I know multiple professors, including my dissertation supervisor, who have offered to write recs for me in the future. I intend to apply for a PhD in Comp Lit, but my difficulty is my language background.

I have been a casual student of French for over six years now, having taken the language in high school and taken non-degree evening courses at university. I also spent a month working in France. My French is probably currently at an A2 -- maybe B1 -- level. I plan to wait to apply for a PhD until after I finish a two-year stint with the Peace Corps in Madagascar, after which time I hope to have achieved the B2 level in Malagasy and French. 

Harvard is currently my top choice because it is the only university that offers the two minority languages I hope to pursure in addition to French: Malagasy and Scottish Gaelic. I have only ever taken beginner's lessons in Scottish Gaelic, so I would be starting from scratch in the PhD.

I'm looking for brutal honesty here -- Would I be a competitive applicant? Is it likely I'll need to complete an MA first? Lack of funding and the nearly three years I'll be in the Peace Corps are why I want to enter directly into a PhD.

Thank you!