Applying for economics/public policy PhDs - nervous, anxious and just figuring this thing out -- I welcome any advice that you can give me.

sheoftherain

Hey everyone! I found gradcafe a little too late, unfortunately. This also a repost from the Government Affairs forum, since I misjudged what was going on there.

I am applying for PhDs in Public Policy (first choice) and Economics (Second choice), in schools with strong urban research going on. I have been feeling pretty okay about my chances and would love to hear your perspective on my chances.

I have given myself three years to try and get into a PhD, and it is my first attempt this year. I wasn't as put together as I wanted to be, so I am also open to school suggestions (especially for safer options, I look at my list and see too much ambition, given my mixed background when it comes to quant)

Considering applying (applied) to: 
Applied to PhD at USC Econ, USC Price, MIT-DUSP, HKS-PEG, UCI-Econ, LSE-Economic Geography, UChicago Harris.

Undergrad Institution: University of Delhi, top college, first class degree.  (2013-2016)

Undergrad Major: Economics with a minor in Political Science  

GPA: 80.5/100

Postgraduate Institution : Top interdisciplinary/ social sciences institution in India (2017-2019)

Post-graduation Major: MA in Urban policy (very qualitative + so I picked up a lot of data management, statistical skills working as an RA)

GPA: 7.8/10 Also the gold medalist (top scorer in the class)

GRE: 161 Q 167 V 4.5 AW

Quant Background: Calculus, Linear Algebra, Statistical Methods, Some Econometrics (All from a quant heavy undergraduate course). Have a lot of on-the-job experience handling large datasets, performing intermediate level statistical + spatial analysis - familiar with handling satellite imagery etc. 

Programming Background: Stata, python