PhD in NT chances?

ALT1991

Here's my info:

• BS in Cognitive Science at UC San Diego, 3.8 GPA.  
  • 2 publications in neuroscience and psychology journals but no publications related to theology or biblical studies yet. 
  • MDiv from Bethel Seminary, 3.96 GPA.
  • GRE: 165V, 160Q.
  • I've worked as a Greek TA (where I led a weekly review group) and a TA for 3 professors (2 NT and 1 systematic theology) at my seminary.  
  • I think my letters of reference will be fairly strong but it's hard to know for sure.  
  • as far as awards, I won a Cognitive Science teaching award when I was an undergrad TA and I was a finalist in a preaching competition during seminary.
  • at the time of application, I will have worked as a pastor for 3 years.
  • I'm a woman, if that makes a difference :)

Do I have a chance of getting into any of these schools for NT studies: Duke, Notre Dame, PTS, Drew, Wheaton, Fuller or Baylor?

Thanks!

I personally think with "diversity" being a big push these days being a woman wouldn't be a bad thing. I think you have a good chance at Fuller and Wheaton. I'm not sure about Duke but please do apply. Does Baylor offer a PhD in New Testament? I have looked into their PhD in the Sociology of Religion.

On 1/23/2021 at 11:28 PM, ALT1991 said:

Do I have a chance of getting into any of these schools for NT studies: Duke, Notre Dame, PTS, Drew, Wheaton, Fuller or Baylor?

I would say your stats are definitely strong, but to have a chance at some of those schools (at least the first three you listed) you'll almost certainly need an additional masters such as a ThM from that type of school (i.e., a "top tier" divinity school or similar).

You probably have a shot at Fuller without an additional degree, but funding is terrible.

Also keep in mind that at some of these schools (at least Wheaton I think), NT is paired with HB/OT as a cognate field so strong Hebrew is a must. You mentioned Greek but not Hebrew so I'm not sure how you are in that area.