Choosing the right PhD program (genetics)

WaywardVulcan

I am an international student considering applying to a PhD to start on the fall of 2022. I am at the first step (selecting universities) and I was wondering what criteria did you guys use to choose which universities/programs to apply.

Did you narrow your focus at the beggining of the process or did you choose schools that had several research lines that might be interesting to you? In other words did you start your applications with a broad interest such as "genetics and genomic medicine", or did you narrow it down at the start to something like "understanding the RAS-MAPkinase pathway"? 

• 4 weeks later...
On 2/8/2021 at 7:55 AM, WaywardVulcan said:

I am an international student considering applying to a PhD to start on the fall of 2022. I am at the first step (selecting universities) and I was wondering what criteria did you guys use to choose which universities/programs to apply.

Did you narrow your focus at the beggining of the process or did you choose schools that had several research lines that might be interesting to you? In other words did you start your applications with a broad interest such as "genetics and genomic medicine", or did you narrow it down at the start to something like "understanding the RAS-MAPkinase pathway"? 

I didn't start looking at places until the end of summer, which was a bad move, imo. So it's good that you're starting now. Start by asking your advisor what the top programs for your interests are; you can use USWNR or similar as a rough guideline. Don't take the rankings as gospel. Consider what locations you want to live in too.