How to be a competitive PhD applicant for science education

culturalsushi

Hi all,

I am an undergraduate in my sophomore year, and I hope to pursue a doctoral degree (PhD) in science education in the future. I have immersed myself in a lot of different activities at the intersection of science, teaching, and linguistics, all of which represent my potential research interest. Among my research experiences, I am currently a researcher in a developmental biology lab and am involving myself in the next month with science education research. 

It's been hard finding quality information on the path to becoming a PhD in education. My reasons for considering the degree include a love of research, academia, teaching, and change in our educational systems. That said, I am unsure what graduate schools look for when accepting applicants. Here are some questions I have:

-What are some activities I can pursue as an undergraduate to show demonstrated interest for these programs?

-What factors are most important in accepting applicants? Research? Teaching experience? Volunteerism?

-How important are statistics, such as GPA and GREs?

-Is it necessary to receive a Master's Degree if I know that my ultimate goal is to be in academia?

Any advice you can provide is very much appreciated. I also am trying to talk to PhDs in the field to grasp a better understanding of the field.

Thank you!

It depends on the program and what kind of research within education research you are interested in!