Stats PhD Hopeful Evaluation

When it comes to applying to graduate schools and jobs, I always struggle to get advice tailored to my situation, which is admittedly uncommon (at least from what I have gathered).

Background: I originally flunked out of a UC school after my freshman year. I was an electrical engineering major and in ROTC, and was in over my head. Not knowing what to do with my life, I ended up getting a degree from a diploma mill for-profit university while I worked full time (albeit doing well, but let's just say I wasn't challenging myself the way I should have). Since then, I got got committed to academics again and began re-teaching myself a lot of the math and programming that I once new, as well well as working on data-related projects. Eventually I studied for the GRE and applied to Data Science and Statistics masters degrees, and was fairly surprised when I got in to most of them. Since attending, I have developed a really keen interest in statistical theory, especially applications to outlier analysis and anomaly detection. I have completed projects and independent research related to these subjects, and I would like to do more research in these subjects through a PhD.

However, despite having good relationships with my professors, I feel like they don't take me seriously when it comes to considering me as someone on the "phd track". To be honest I don't blame them-- I don't have an academic remotely similar to any of them, let alone the students in my program. I feel like I was able to compensate for my prior faults enough to get into a Masters program, but is that the ceiling for me?

I guess what I am wondering is: what more can I do to make myself a more competitive potential PhD candidate? Should I take Real Analysis as a non-degree student despite doing well in analysis-heavy stats classes? Should I hunker down and study for the GRE math subject test? I know top 20 schools are out of the question, but what about the 50-100?