Carnegie Mellon indecisions

demonv

Hi,

I am an international student and have been admitted to the ECE dept in CMU for MS. While applying I had specified my field of interest as DSP as both my college projects were oriented in this regard. While I am excited to get an offer to join right now I'm in two minds. I have a few doubts.

1. I'm not sure if I want to pursue my MS in DSP itself. Is it hard to change fields after joining? CMU's compsci department is best known and how hard will it be to shift to that department, if not fully atleast attend some courses? The reason fro that is below. I want to make sure every penny is well spent atleast?

2. I'm not sure if an MS will be worth 70K $ fees!! :-O

I have accepted the offer from CMU and am currently waiting for my I-20.

Hi,

I am an international student and have been admitted to the ECE dept in CMU for MS. While applying I had specified my field of interest as DSP as both my college projects were oriented in this regard. While I am excited to get an offer to join right now I'm in two minds. I have a few doubts.

1. I'm not sure if I want to pursue my MS in DSP itself. Is it hard to change fields after joining? CMU's compsci department is best known and how hard will it be to shift to that department, if not fully atleast attend some courses? The reason fro that is below. I want to make sure every penny is well spent atleast?

2. I'm not sure if an MS will be worth 70K $ fees!! :-O

I have accepted the offer from CMU and am currently waiting for my I-20.

A1. There is no MS in CS at CMU, so you cannot shift to the CS department for a direct masters in CS(either ways program transfers are almost impossible).

However, i have some good news for you.