Application for non-majors

Hi All,

So I went to Oberlin College, 3.56 GPA majored in Politics. I graduated in 08 and worked as a paralegal for a year, before realizing I wanted to do psychology. I quit my job, and have been volunteering in two psychology labs at the University of Massachusetts (it looks like I'll get a good letter and one publication but won't be the lead author).

I'm currently looking for RA positions to get more experience before applying to Clinical PhD programs. I am posting to see if anyone has any stories or advice for those who didn't major in psychology, but want to go on to PhDs in the field. Given the crazy admission standards, I'd love any perspective. I'm 24 now, and won't probably be applying for two years......am also wondering if anyone else has started programs or known people to start around 27 or so. I'm worried about being the oldest. Thanks for your help!

Your age will not be an issue. How much psychology coursework did you take in your undergrad? Its possible that doing an MA or MS in general or clinical psychology would allay any fears adcomms might have about a lack of relevant coursework. If you think you could self-study and do well, taking the psychology GRE would also be something else to look at.

I agree with Cogneuroforfun that your previous psychology coursework will be considered and that taking the psychology GRE may be a good way to demonstrate competence, even to programs that do not require it. You may want to call programs and ask a few questions, or see if their websites have FAQs where they list the kind of background they look for in students.