Associations & Reputations of US Comp Lit Programs

I’m an international student aspiring to apply to Comparative Literature PhD programs in the US (probably in the Fall 23 cycle...I’m planning ahead?) but I know pretty much nothing about US universities, apart from what I have read on their websites. I have a few questions that will definitely influence the courses that I take in the next year, so I would be very grateful if anyone here would be willing to share their insight!☺️

I have read on here before that certain universities have quite specific reputations when it comes to literary theory. This is a huge ask but would anybody be able to elaborate on this? For example, what kind of theory is prioritised at Yale as opposed to Stanford, Harvard etc. In a similar vein, would a theory-heavy writing sample be more recommended for some programs and discouraged for others? Also, do certain courses focus more on languages than theory? I suppose I am asking generally what the literary theory scene is like in the US at the moment—it’s not too big at my current university and quite a few of my professors are actually opposed to theory altogether!

A little background: I have two foreign languages to a high level of proficiency, and a third to good working proficiency (I can read and understand it quite well but can’t speak it too fluently at the moment). I am looking to pick up another language in the next year (if only so that more scholarship is accessible to me?). I don’t really have anyone at my current university who can advise me on applying to US programs, so I am appealing to the internet! If anybody is willing respond I will be very appreciative?