The school I got into knowingly recruit a sex offender.

I am an incoming student at a well-respected program in the US. Being an international student from a small country, I was excited about the opportunity to study at a top school; until I found out that a person in my cohort was a sex offender with multiple sexual harassment records. I was shocked to learn that the school recruited a sex offender to the program and am deeply concerned about being on campus this fall.

The person was a politician in my country and had numerous records of sexually harassing women in public, the victims include both high school and college girls. He was grouping women on public transit when they were asleep and got caught several times, all in different years; however, he got away with deferred prosecution (so no criminal records on file.) I’m aware of it since those were covered by major newspapers and broadcasted on national news networks in my country. But, even those happened ten years ago, I’m still disgusted by reading it.

I’ve reported it to the Title IX office at the institute and been told they’ve reviewed and addressed it with their policy. They decided that the person will be on campus this Fall. I was frustrated that the school knowingly recruited a sex offender, and truly concerned about being on campus this Fall. Unfortunately, it seems like the only option not to be on campus with such a person is to give up my admission.

This forum helped me a lot while I was applying last year, and I would like to post it here to get some thoughts and perspectives. Am I overreacting? What else could I do?

It’s a long post and thank you for reading it.