What's the min GRE score I need to get in order to have a chance getting into Top CS Phd programs?

valeyard

Hi guys,

I am currently a EECS ugrad student in Cal, I have good major gpa and great cs/ee gpa. However, I really suck at memorizing vocabularies and I only got 500 on SAT verbal and 550 on SAT writing, so English is not my strong point. I am worried if a bad GRE score will decrease my chances of getting into top cs grad programs. What is the minimum GRE score I need to get to have a chance for the Top CS Phd programs? 1200+? 1300+? Thanks in advance for your replies.

Best,

Edward

At the university I work at it's 1100+ to even be considered; 1200+ to be at all competitive. I made nearly a 1300 on mine and I don't think it was too difficult. In fact, the only thing that brought me down was my ugly verbal score (AW was a 5.0, not bad). Shoot for the upper quartile with your percentiles. The raw score matters only insofar as whether or not they will consider you application. Percentile controls how competitive your application is within the applicant pool.

Don't worry about the GRE... what matters is your research and what your SOP and recommendation letters have to say about your research.

Edit: In other words, use the time you would have spent for GRE cramming to work on your research instead!

Edited by OH YEAH

Don't worry about the GRE... what matters is your research and what your SOP and recommendation letters have to say about your research.

Edit: In other words, use the time you would have spent for GRE cramming to work on your research instead!

Thanks for your reply, I am also wondering if 6 semesters of research experience and no paper in the field of my interest (by the time of applying) is considered good for an ugrad student applying for top cs programs?