Marketing Phd with no MBA?

I graduated Summa Cum Laude from Western Kentucky University with a 3.8 GPA. I also graduated from the Honors College, which entailed completing a thesis project. My major was Corporate Communication with a minor in Marketing. I have 3 years full time marketing experience since I graduated. I am wanting to pursue my Phd in Marketing. I have yet to take my GMAT. How likely am I to get into a Phd program without having an MBA? Or is it almost necessary to get my MBA first? Will I be prepared enough to enter into a Phd program? Any advice would be appreciated :)

Hey Mariah,

I am a graduate with very similar profile as yours. The only difference is - I have already taken my GMAT. I contacted a professor in UFL to answer same query of mine. Quoting him -

"It isn't mandatory to have a Master's degree, but that would likely improve your chances greatly. Work experience would count for something but wouldn't likely be given heavy weight, unless you were using it to motivate some research direction. I don't know that taking another job in research would do a whole lot to improve your chances. I think that it will be a bit difficult for your application to stand out unless you get a Master's degree or make a connection with a professor whose research interests you"

I had asked him if taking another job in the core research area would improve my chances in a Doctoral program. Hope this helps!

Hey Mariah,

I am a graduate with very similar profile as yours. The only difference is - I have already taken my GMAT. I contacted a professor in UFL to answer same query of mine. Quoting him -